What are your biggest challenges?

Let me start off by saying I can’t even believe that it’s 2024. I remember when it was 2014 and 2004, so it always amazes me how quickly time flies.

My biggest challenge this year is the same exact challenge I faced in 2017 when I first started to have chronic full body pain that never ends: trying to get to the bottom of what’s causing this pain. In the process, I’ve been diagnosed with thyroid cancer (i’m doing everything I can to save the thyroid, so I’m in the watch and wait program at the local Cancer Hospital). I’ve also been recently diagnosed with severe iron deficiency, so I have to get to the bottom of why my iron reserves have gotten so low in the last year. I also have TMJ Disorder, and I’ve been having treatment since 2019 with no noticeable changes, which is very frustrating.

So of course, my biggest challenge is my health. I live a very healthy lifestyle since I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I don’t do drugs. I’m a vegan, who is nut free, soy free, corn free, seed oil free, and gluten-free. But yet the chronic pain and multiple health problems continue which is enough to send me spiraling into a pit of despair. Why me, you know?

I feel like it’s not fair that someone so young, such as myself, who’s in her early 30s, is facing severe health challenges that her peers aren’t even facing. Anyway, despite all of this, in the upcoming year, I will try my best to fulfill my short term goals, such as:

1. Continuing to study, and hopefully master literary and classical Chinese. (maybe this year I can take the TOCFL proficiency test?)

2. Looking into suburban homesteading and improving my gardening skills by volunteering to do seed trials.

3. Planting a Fuji apple tree in the backyard along with my parents and watch the tree slowly grow over time, while taking care of it.

4. Improving my Instant Pot cooking skills.

5. Improving my loom knitting skills and hopefully learning how to do fancier stitches.

6. Spending more quality time with my parents.

I’m someone who really needs to have goals in order to get out of the bed in the morning, so i’m proud of myself for having both short-term and long-term goals. At the same time, I’m afraid of what 2024 will bring. There will be many worldwide elections this year, so in terms of politics, who knows what type of chaos will ensue. However, what I’m most frightened of is the climate crisis, and what will happen this summer. Last summer we had the Canadian wildfire smoke to contend with, as well as the irregular and unpredictable weather which really made my backyard vegetable plants depressed.

I’m not an optimistic person by nature, so part of me has no hope for the future, especially since I’ve seen firsthand the effects of humanity destroying the Earth. However, I’m still alive and still standing, so that at least has to count for something, right?

11 responses to “My Biggest Challenges in 2024 are…”

  1. I’ll start off with another lyrical quote for ya…”You live for the fight when that’s all that you’ve got.”

    Now, onto more serious stuff. The fact that you are dealing with so much and still making every effort you can to move forward is downright outstanding. You have not given up, and that in and of itself is a huge victory. Be very, very proud of yourself!
    When I read stories like yours I realize how insignificant some of my problems seem.
    You have set goals and you are looking for answers, and that is downright awesome. You’ve embraced a warrior’s mentality and clearly don’t want to give up.

    I hope you find them and I look forward to hearing more about your journey. With your mindset and willpower I see many victories ahead of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for quoting songs I never heard before because I feel like the lyrics you provide are very important.

      Your encouragement means so much to me and has given me some strength to continue to fight and live for another day.

      You shouldn’t compare yourself to me or others because your struggles are just as valid as ours. None of your problems are insignificant because there is meaning in everything that happens to us. I don’t know everything that you have been through, but I believe you are also doing your best every day. Interacting with you and sharing our journeys with each other via blog posts gives me something to look forward to each day, so for that, I thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s my pleasure, believe me. It’s been a very rewarding experience thus far for me. Seeing that there are others out there who feel similar to me makes it a lot easier to get through some tough days.
        I’ve seen my fair share of stuff in my day and a lot of it not good, so I get where folks are coming from. Now, I feel like my purpose is to try and bring some light to other people’s day whenever I can.

        And don’t worry…I can come up with a lyric for just about any situation LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! Seeing how we all struggle and have our own share of suffering has made me feel less alone.

        It’s so hard to find someone like you who feels their purpose is to bring light into other people’s lives, so i am thankful for your existence.

        Oh really?! Haha, i look forward to you sending me more song lyric quotes in the future 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. And I am thankful for yours. Don’t think that doesn’t work both ways. I am very, very grateful for the opportunity to get to know other people. And if I can make their day even a bit better, then my day is much better too.

        Oh, yes…I always have random lyrics popping into my head that can pertain to certain situations. I’m not sure if it’s a talent or a curse lol

        Like

    2. Please if you feel you need some want to talk to Melissa then feel free to contact me on my blog. I know exactly how you’re feeling right now and I want to make sure you have a friend. Lots of love disabled Dahling xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for your understanding and reaching out to me. I hope we can keep in contact and learn more about each other’s journeys.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course we can! You can always message me! ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Melissa, happy New Year! I’m sending you positive thoughts and best wishes. I hope that you succeed with all of your goals. Best of luck 🍀

    Like

    1. Hi Claudia. Thank you so much for sending me best wishes. I also hope you will have a very healthy and happy New Year, with much success and love!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much, Melissa 💚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Trending

Blog at WordPress.com.

Discover more from Melissa's Random Musings

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started